Tetevi Davi

Regional Correspondent

Tetevi is a future pupil barrister at 25 Bedford Row in London. He is currently advising individuals and organisations bringing claims before various international courts including the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights, sub-regional African courts and the European Court of Human Rights. He is a rapporteur for Oxford International Organizations (OXIO) where his work focuses on international human rights and international criminal law, with a special focus on African treaties. He has recently authored a contribution on the 1993 Revised ECOWAS Treaty and is working on a contribution relating to the Special Criminal Court in CAR. He is also working on a contribution for the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law on the African Court. Tetevi has published two articles with Professor Jeremy Sarkin, former Chair-Rapporteur of the UN Working Group on Enforced and Involuntary Disappearances, relating to transitional justice and has written for numerous legal blogs, including EJIL! Talk, Opinio Juris and the OxHRH blog. Previously, Tetevi was a visiting Nicolas Bratza scholar at the European Court of Human Rights, where his legal work was divided between the Court’s Research Division, the Office of the President and he also undertook research for the British judge, Tim Eicke QC. He has also interned in the Legal Advisory Section of the International Criminal Court, where he carried out research for the Deputy Prosecutor and Head of the Investigations Division. Furthermore, he has interned in the Appeals Chamber of the UN International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia where he assisted Judge Koffi Afande.

Tetevi was called to the bar of England and Wales (2018) where he holds Nicolas Bratza, Tancred and Hardwicke scholarships from Lincoln’s Inn. He has an LLM in international law from the University of Maastricht and a degree with Law with French and French Law from the University of Nottingham. He sits on the Executive Committee of the Human Rights Lawyers’ Association (UK).