Call for Applications-Herbet Smith Freehills Oxford Disability Mooting

admin - 21st October 2016
Call for Applications – Herbert Smith Freehills Oxford Disability Mooting Championship 2016 is now open!
Please Note – There has been a change to the eligibility rules. The competition is now open to both matriculated students of the University of Oxford and visiting students at the University of Oxford.
This exciting Mooting Championship will take place on Saturday 29th October for the Preliminary Rounds at Brasenose College. The Grand Final will be held on Saturday 5th November 2016 at the University Church of St Mary. The competition is open to all matriculated students of the University of Oxford and all visiting students. The Herbert Smith Freehills Oxford Disability Mooting Championship has been established to promote the intellectual study of disability and its intersection with issues of law. 

This year, the moot problem will focus on equality law and school exclusion. Please note that the Faculty Mooting Coordinator is Dr James Goudkamp. 

Applicants should apply in teams of two. Each team should submit one skeleton argument (see Rule 2.1–2.5 of the Rules of the Championship) and each team member’s contact details to by 4pm on Sunday 23rd October. The documents can be found in the dropbox folder here 

Participants in this competition will have the chance to:
  •        Showcase their advocacy skills in front of distinguished judge
  •    Preliminary Round judges include Herbert Smith Freehills’ Partners Mr Daniel Hudson, Mr John Corrie and Senior Associate Mr Graeme Robertson.
  •        Semi-Final judges include Tim Leaver and Adam Johnson. 
  •        The Grand Final will be judged by Dame Elish Angiolini, former Lord Advocate of Scotland and current Principal of St Hugh’s College; Professor Anne Davies, Dean of the Faculty of Law; Mr John Bowers QC, Principal of Brasenose college; and Mr Ian Gatt QC, Head of the Advocacy Group at Herbert Smith Freehills. Audience members will have the opportunity to hear the reasoning of these senior judges and witness their interactions with contestants.
  •        Win a cash prize of £300 (Championship Winning Team).
  •        Win a cash prize of £150 (Championship Runner-up Team in the Grand Final). 
  •        Join the distinguished judges and conversazione speakers in a Celebratory Dinner at Brasenose College – available to the members of all 12 teams.
  •        The members of all 12 teams will be invited to attend the Drinks Reception.
  •        The Organising Committee will announce the chosen 12 Teams on Monday 24th October.
The Organising Committee
Marie Tidball, Luke Rostill, Rachel Clement, Oliver Mills, Rebecca Rose, Samuel Irving, Caroline Greenfield, Oliver Dowie, Conor Ewing, Emma Bridger, Jakub Bieganski.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *