Submissions for Moore Prize in Human Rights

by | Dec 13, 2017

The Christopher G. Moore Foundation is pleased to announce that submissions are open for the Moore Prize 2018 to honour fiction that contributes to the awareness, understanding and supports the universality of human rights. This unique initiative is awarded annually, as chosen by a panel of judges whose own work focuses on human rights.

The inaugural 2017 Moore Prize was awarded to Anjan Sundaram for his non-fiction book titled Bad News. For 2018, the Moore Prize will recognize fiction. The international fiction prize is open to authors worldwide. The Prize is open for a work of fiction, published in English,that promotes the values consistent with the advance of human rights and dignity. Entry is free and works may be submitted directly by the author(s) or through a publisher.  The winner of the fiction prize will receive £1,000.

The 2018 jury is comprised of Randy Boyagoda, Principal and Vice-President

University of St Michael’s College in the University of Toronto, Professor, English Department Basilian Chair in Christianity, Arts, and Letters; Carmen Boullosa, one of Mexico’s leading novelists, poets, and playwrights, whose award winning work includes 17 novels; and George Fetherling, a Canadian poet, novelist, and cultural commentator, one of the most prolific figures in Canadian letters

Submissions must be received on or before 30th April 2018 to be eligible. The submitted novel must have been published between the dates of 1st January to 31st December 2017. Full details of books that have been longlisted, shortlisted and the award winner will be published on the Foundation website.

Christopher G. Moore, Prize founder, said: “My goal is to recognize the literary work that, in a given year, showcases the problems inherent in the struggle to advance human rights, freedom of expression, and freedom of assembly. Books remain one of the best means to alert us to potential dangers to our liberties and freedoms in a technologically advanced age.”

Contacts:  For all media inquiries please contact Foundation director Daniel Vaver at For more information on the Prize and the Foundation, please visit

Notes to Publishers, Editors, Agents and Readers:

  1. The Christopher G. Moore Foundation and Moore Prize are named after Christopher G. Moore, the Canadian novelist and essayist best known for his Calvino series of detective novels. He has also written several non-fiction works and edited anthologies, and written four collections of essays which, among other subjects, address issues of human rights, freedom of speech and censorship.
  2. The Christopher G. Moore Foundation is a registered UK charity dedicated to supporting authors who promote human rights and monitor its infringements.
  3. The 2018 Jury:

Randy Boyagoda is a Canadian writer, intellectual and critic best known for his novels Governor of the Northern Province (2006) and Beggar’s Feast (2011) and his biography of Richard John Neuhaus (2015). He is a member of the University of Toronto’s English Department served as the President of PEN Canada from 2015-2017.

Carmen Boullosa has had established a reputation as one of Mexico’s most admired writers. Her work examines issues of feminism and gender roles within a Latin American context. She has won a number of awards for her works. She has taught at universities such as Georgetown University, Columbia University and New York University (NYU), the City College of New York and Blaise Pascal University in Clermont Ferrand, France.

George Fetherling one of Canada’s most prolific person of letters, who has written or edited more than fifty books, including a dozen volumes of poetry, four book-length fictions, and a two-volume memoir.

  1. The Christopher G. Moore Foundation Trustees are Daniel Vaver and Christopher G. Moore.
  2. The longlist will be announced on 30th May 2018 and the shortlist will be announced of five novels will be announced on 31st July 2018, with the Winner announced on 30th October 2018.
  3. We prefer ebook submission be sent directly to the judges and to the Foundation.
  4. 7. To contact the Foundation via social media, please use or

Share this:


Submit a Comment

Related Content

OxHRH Managing Editor, Tom Lowenthal, Succeeds at Shearman & Sterling Moot Competition

OxHRH Managing Editor, Tom Lowenthal, Succeeds at Shearman & Sterling Moot Competition

OxHRH Managing Editor, Tom Lowenthal and Melody Ihuoma (University of Oxford) triumph in the University of Oxford ...
Litigating for Climate Justice: Views from the Frontlines

Litigating for Climate Justice: Views from the Frontlines

Climate change is set to be one of the most pressing challenges for human rights in the coming decades. The two ...
Human Smuggling Before the Supreme Court of Canada-Professor Catherine Dauvergne (UBC)

Human Smuggling Before the Supreme Court of Canada-Professor Catherine Dauvergne (UBC)

This talk will explain the constitutional challenge to Canada's human smuggling laws that was argued before the ...